How to downgrade Windows 10 after a month

In some ways, it was generous of Microsoft to offer the option in the first place. We\’ve already explained step-by-step how to use the Windows 10 rollback feature.

But after a month, the option will disappear along with your old version of Windows, and you\’re then stuck with Windows 10. It\’s not such a hardship – see our Windows 10 review for why – but if you\’re only just discovering incompatibilities, what can you do about going back to Windows 7 or 8?

Here are some options open to you.

How to downgrade Windows 10 after 30 days: a clean install

Once 30 days have elapsed since you upgraded to Windows 10, it will automatically delete your old Windows files (kept in a folder called Windows.old) along with the files in two other important hidden folders:  $Windows.~BT and $Windows.~WS.

You can check for these folders by enabling \’Hidden items\’ in the View tab in File Explorer. But even if those folders are present after 30 days, it\’s likely the files within them have been removed to prevent them using up a lot of unnecessary disk space. This means you can\’t roll back.

How to downgrade Windows 10 after a month

On some computers, you\’ll still have a Windows application which allows you to perform a restore by using the manufacturer\’s own method. On an Acer Aspire laptop, for example, we found the Acer Recovery Management app which made it simple to go back to the original version of Windows which came in the box.

Performing a restore will wipe the C: drive, so you will lose all your personal files and settings. So you\’ll still have to back these up, and you\’ll still have plenty of Windows updates and programs to install after the restore is complete. You shouldn\’t have to worry about anything not working, since the drivers will be reinstalled. But any hardware you\’ve added will have to have the software or drivers reinstalled, such as a printer.

How to downgrade Windows 10 after 30 days: Third-party backup software

If you\’re thinking of upgrading to Windows 10 (or have just done so) and don\’t want the 30-day limit, there are two different options.

Before upgrading:

Hard drive imaging software is nothing new: Acronis, Norton Ghost and similar programs have allowed you to make a complete copy of your hard disk so you can quickly go back in the event of a hard drive failure, or some other disaster. You can use these, or something specific such as EaseUs System GoBack which is designed to let you roll back to a previous version of Windows.

Naturally, you need to install and use this type of software BEFORE you upgrade.

After upgrading:

If you have already upgraded but are within the 30-day rollback window, you can enable hidden items (as described above) and rename the three folders which Windows will try to delete. If it can\’t find the folders – because you\’ve changed their names – it can\’t delete them. We can\’t verify this works, but some users have reported that renaming the folders back to their original names after 30 days brings back the rollback option, which you\’ll find in Start > Settings > Update and Security > Recovery.

About the Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may also like these